March 17th, 2017 ~ Taxing Foods

Good morning! Recently there has been a lot of discussion among the cottage food producers about which foods are taxable and non-taxable. The fact sheets at the Minnesota Department of Revenue (MDOR) can be a little confusing. So I sat down and wrote up a simplified chart and I asked the kind folks at the MDOR to check to make sure it was correct. They sent it back with a few corrections and here is the result. I thought I would share it with you all. This is NOT a legal document. I’m just a lady who likes to bake. If you have any other questions you can email the Sales Use Technical Department at the MDOR: SalesUse.Tech@state.mn.us. It does take them a little while to get back to you but they will.

Please click this link to see the chart: Taxable Foods List

One more thing, I contacted the Dept. Of Agriculture to find out why the registrations have been taking so long. Mr. Jim Roettger, the man now in charge, assured me that they are working as fast as they can and appreciate our patience.

Have a nice weekend!

69f25cc89e5c61f3df4b455315587f1d[1]

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Roxie's Baked Goods

    Hi, I hope your day is going well. I can’t open the file. I’m not sure why. I have Word on my phone and other apps that would usually open docs lime that.

    Thanks for your time.

    Roxanne Minor

    On Mar 17, 2017 10:43 AM, “Minnesota Cottage Food Law” wrote:

    > sjerickson posted: “Good morning! Recently there has been a lot of > discussion among the cottage food producers about which foods are taxable > and non-taxable. The fact sheets at the Minnesota Department of Revenue > (MDOR) can be a little confusing. So I sat down and wrote up a” >

    • Hi Roxanne, I’m not sure why it isn’t opening for you. It seems to be alright when I try it on my computer. I will email the file to your gmail account. Let me know if it works. Shelley

  2. Rachel

    Eeek, I am so confused! Everything I’ve read out selling cakes and cupcakes (that’s what I do), led me to believe I had to charge tax on them. But your chart says that’s not true? I only do online orders and farmers’ markets (boxes, so not providing fork, napkin, etc.). So you’re telling me I don’t charge and, hence, pay taxes to the state of Minnesota?

    • Hi Rachel, it is confusing. If you would like to email me at mncottagefoodlaw@gmail.com I will try to help you. I’m not a tax expert but I can maybe direct you to who can answer your questions.

Leave a Reply

