Throwback Thursday ~ Father’s Day Cakes & Cookies

I tried to find some vintage cake pictures of Father’s Day cakes on Pinterest as I usually do for my Throwback pictures. Unfortunately I didn’t have very good results. So I switched to Google Images, still nothing much. At that point I was starting to feel pretty sorry for dads. They don’t seem to get many holidays just for them. I decided to look up the history of Father’s Day on Wikipedia. Apparently, although a lady named Sonora Smart Dodd tried to get the holiday going in 1910 in honor of her father, the holiday never really caught on. For many years it was an on again, off again thing, up until 1972 when President Richard Nixon made it a permanent national holiday. That is why there aren’t many vintage cakes to be found. So I have compiled a collection of some old, and some just really neat cakes in honor of Father’s Day. Happy Father’s Day to all of you dads out there!

 

Leave a Reply

