Throwback Thursday ~ Cookbooks

Garage sales are a great place to find old cookbooks. This past weekend I found two really neat cookbooks, for only 50 cents! One is “Sixy-five Delicious Dishes”, copyright 1919, by the Fleischmann Co. It’s all about making things with bread. The other one is the “Betty Crocker Cook Book Of All-Purpose Baking”, copyright 1942. I have so many cookbooks, and every time I think it might be a good idea to get rid of some of them, I just can’t bring myself to do it. Old cookbooks were so much more than just recipes. They were full of advise, health & homemakers tips, old wives tales, and just cute little items here and there. In this day and age, when everything is found and recorded on the internet, there isn’t much need for cookbooks. It’s very sad, nothing can replace that old cookbook with Great-grandma’s handwritten notations in the corner of the page.

A lot of these pictures were found on Pinterest. While looking for these pictures I found another very interesting blog post that you might also enjoy, 11 Vintage Cookbooks, (1861-1920)

3 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Cupcakes & Pearls.

  2. Got here by searching old cookbooks. I love old cookbooks too and can’t resist buying them. I have a large collection. The internet is great with photos and step by step instructions and ease of searching for recipes, but I just love old cookbooks and don’t think I’ll stop collecting anytime soon.

    • You find the most interesting things in the old cookbooks. I have one that tells you how to cook possum and squirrel!

Leave a Reply

