Tidbit Tuesday ~ California
California’s cottage food law came into effect January 2013. It’s called the California Homemade Food Act. Home bakers are allowed to make up to $45,000.00 and next year it will be increased to $50,000.00.
Their system has two categories. Class A lets you sell only directly to the consumer. You have to have something similar to a food handler’s license, and follow some basic rules. A Class B license allows you to make third party sales, to restaurants and grocery stores. However, this will cost more money for home inspections and licensing.
You can read more about California on cottagefoods.org.